Crazy Cake

Crazy Cake is a recipe I originally got from my grandma when I was a teenager. Many years later, it’s still the best chocolate cake recipe in my book. It’s fairly difficult to screw up as well, which makes it a good starter recipe. Guests to our birthday parties always remark at how moist and flavorful it is. We reduce the sugar to 1 3/4 C and the unsweetened cocoa powder to 1/3 C. It makes 1 9 x 13 inch, 2 8-inch cakes or about 20 cupcakes. If you wish to turn the cake out of the pan, I strongly recommend lots of baking spray and lining the bottom with parchment paper. Grandma said you could just sprinkle it with powdered sugar, but since I’m a frosting girl, I always frost it. For a tangy counterpoint, serve with fresh raspberries.

Leave a Reply

