Beautiful Burger Buns

Beautiful Burger Buns is a great recipe to have on hand because it means you don’t have to go to the grocery store to buy buns. I also like the flexibility of making them any size I want. The resulting buns are the perfect combination of soft and chewy; it’s hard to go back to store-bought once you’re used to these. Instead of the butter called for, I use 1 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil. I use just barely 3/4 cup water. I mix the flour, sugar and salt together well, then add the instant yeast. With the Kitchen Aid running, I add the wet ingredients. For me, the dough always takes closer to 1 1/2 hours to rise. Just before the buns go into the oven, I brush them with egg wash and sprinkle with either poppy seeds or sesame seeds. Unfortunately, these don’t keep well. More than 24 hours after being made, and the buns take on a gummy texture. At that point, you can make them edible again by cutting in half, spreading the cut sides with oil, and toasting under your broiler, or in a pan on the stove.

Leave a Reply

