Lemonade

Lemonade is one of those things that people used to know how to do off the top of their head, but that kind of food knowledge is becoming more and more rare all the time. Somewhere along the line, I got the impression that you need piles of lemons to make lemonade. Since I live in the Northwest, where lemons can easily run $1 each, I have always dismissed the idea of homemade lemonade as something that was out of reach for me. However, I learned more recently that you only need piles of lemons to make an entire pitcher of lemonade. One good-sized lemon will make enough lemonade for my family of four. Sometimes my husband and I will add vodka as well. I’ve looked around on-line, and every recipe I found for lemonade was for a big pitcher. Our own recipe makes a single tall glass, perfect for that summer night when you just want one glass to go with dinner. Anymore, I buy my lemons by the bag at our local big-box store, especially in the summertime when citrus drinks taste so refreshing. It is my dream to have a lemon tree in my backyard, but alas, they simply don’t grow here.

Lemonade

Ingredients

2 Tbs fresh lemon juice
2 Tbs simple syrup
Plain seltzer water

Directions

Mix the lemon juice and the simple syrup in a tall glass. Fill with ice. Pour plain seltzer water over the top and stir. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

