Spiced Pumpkin Bread

Spiced Pumpkin Bread is full of fall flavor, and yet since it calls for canned pumpkin, can really be made anytime, especially if you already have some on hand that you are trying to use up. This recipe doubles well. For large batches of any quick-bread, I like the disposable aluminum loaf pans, sprayed with cooking or baking spray. To freeze, I turn the bread out of the baking pans, cool completely, then wrap first with plastic wrap and then with aluminum foil. Then I carefully label what kind of bread it is and the date that I made it. Instead of the dried fruit the bread calls for, I like to use some sort of chopped nut. Neither are necessary, however. Other than that, I like this recipe as written. Sometimes instead of the cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg that it calls for, I use 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. I do like it both ways. As written, the cloves have just a bit of bite, and with my suggestion, the flavor is rounder and slightly less intense.

Leave a Reply

