Five-star Cherry Pie

Five-star Cherry pie is to me, the quintessential Christmas pie. It has been my grandmother’s go-to cherry pie recipe probably for as long as I’ve been alive, maybe longer. I don’t know where the recipe originated. In all likelihood, it is a 1950’s magazine recipe, but who knows. I doubt Grandma remembers anymore. Grandma always used home-canned pie cherries picked from the tree in her backyard. I use water-canned cherries from the grocery store. Either way, to me, this cherry pie means Christmas.

Five-Star Cherry Pie

Ingredients

1 quart canned pie cherries (32 oz, about 2 cans), drained, juice reserved
1/3 C of the reserved juice from the cherries
2 1/2 Tbs instant tapioca
1/4 tsp almond extract
1 tsp lemon juice
1 C sugar
pinch of salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 415 degrees.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and let stand while you prepare the Easy Wesson Oil Pie Crust.,

Prepare pie tin with the bottom crust and fill with the filling. I like a firm pie, so I sprinkle a bit of the tapioca on top as well for some insurance. Then crown with the top crust.

Once the pie is assembled, sprinkle the top with sugar [I like to use red cake decorating sugar] and cut slits in the top through which steam can escape.

Bake for 15 minutes at 415 degrees and then lower the temperature to 350 degrees and bake for 45 more minutes, or until the filling is bubbling and the crust is browned.

Don’t tell my grandmother, but a glass of pinot noir is a fantastic accompaniment to a slice of this pie!

Leave a Reply

