Mini Gluten-Free Blackberry Pies

Mini Gluten-Free Blackberry Pies has been my go-to recipe for gluten-free pie for a few years now. I have one family member who is gluten-free. After years of experimentation with different recipes, this one is the best. I do mini pies in disposable tins because gluten-free pies don’t have as much structure, so can be harder to cut than traditional pies. The tins I use have a 5″ diameter. This recipe makes 2 pies.

Gluten-Free Perfect Pie Crust Recipe is the recipe I use for the crust. First, you make a gluten-free flour mix. I am reproducing that recipe here so that I can link to the actual brands that I use. To find all of these products, you will need a good Thai grocery and a grocery with a decent natural foods selection.

3/4 C super fine white rice flour
1/4 C potato starch
1/4 C sweet rice flour, also called glutinous rice flour (for its texture, it is gluten-free)
1/4 C tapioca starch
1 tsp xanthan gum

The crust recipe calls for either butter or vegan shortening. I use the shortening because the family member I am baking for is also dairy-free. The only change I make to the original instructions is I don’t refrigerate the dough before rolling it out. I’m not sure if it’s because I use the shortening instead of butter or if it’s for some other reason, but the one time I refrigerated it, the dough became rock hard and extremely difficult to manipulate.

I make the crust dough and divide into four portions. I roll out two of the portions and use them to line the two pie tins. Then I make the filling. Once both pies are filled, I roll out the remaining two portions of dough and use them to top the pies. I cut off excess dough around the edges and then use my fingers to crimp the two layers together. Finally, I use a knife to cut slits through which steam can escape.

Filling Ingredients

3 C frozen seedless blackberries
2 Tbs corn starch
1/2 C granulated sugar
pinch of salt

Directions

In a food processor, pulse all of the ingredients together until the berries have been reduced to pea-size pieces. Divide between the two pie tins.

Bake in a 415 degree oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350. Bake for an additional 30 – 45 minutes, or until the crust is lightly browned and the filling is bubbly. If the crust browns too fast, lay a piece of aluminum foil over the pies to protect the crust.

Leave a Reply

