Fish Tacos with Chipotle Cream

Fish Tacos with Chipotle Cream are now called Snapper Tacos with Chipotle Cream, but whatever you call them, they are delicious. I use tilapia for these anyway, so the original title makes more sense. I reduce the onion and tomato down to just one cup of each, but otherwise I do the recipe as written.

These tacos are served on flour tortillas. All of my recipes that use flour tortillas benefit from the wonderful tortillas I found a number of years ago. Tortilla Land Tortillas are thinner and less doughy than most grocery-store tortillas. You do have to cook them in a skillet for a couple of minutes on each side before using them, but they are totally worth the effort. In my area, they are available in huge packages at Costco. I take them home, divide them into freezer bags into single meal portions appropriate for my family, and then freeze them until they are needed. They don’t take long to defrost on the counter.

This recipe also requires a single chili from a can of chipotle chilis in adobo. Once you open a can of chipotle chilis, you have to remove whatever you don’t use from the can. You could keep them in a glass jar in the refrigerator, but I like to puree the whole can and freeze the resulting puree in ice cube trays. Once the cubes are frozen, I pop them out into freezer bags, label them, and then they are handy for any recipe that calls for chipotle chilis in adobo.

Leave a comment